ACSE Alumni Month

March is ACSE alumni month, which means we will be sharing some amazing graduate profiles with you each week.

We launch our alumni month with a profile from Homayon Aryan who gained a PhD in Space Physics under Professor Balikhin and now works at NASA!

What subjects did you study prior to ACSE?
I studied Mathematics, Further Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and Biology for AS and Mathematics, Further Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry for A2.

NASA 4

How did you decided to study for a PhD at ACSE?
I received a MEng degree in Aerospace Engineering with Private Pilot Instructions from the department of Mechanical Engineering. However, Aerospace Engineering is very interdisciplinary; therefore I studied many ACSE modules throughout my four years. As part of my final year dissertation I designed, built and tested a Martian unmanned aerial vehicle prototype capable of flying within the thin Martian atmosphere. This was an ACSE module under the supervision of Dr. Tony Dodd who recommended a PhD in space physics under Prof. Michael Balikhin at the department of ACSE.

I already knew the department of ACSE very well from my time at the department of Mechanical Engineering. The ACSE department has been very successful. So it was an easy decision.

NASA 3

Focus of your PhD?
I primarily studied particle acceleration in near earth geospace (system approach to the modelling and forecasting of fluxes of high energy electrons in the terrestrial radiation belts).

NASA 5

Favourite things about ACSE?
The willingness of the academic staff to provide support to both undergraduates and postgraduates. Students are always encouraged to do more and be creative. This helps students to achieve their potentials and be successful in the job market.

“ACSE researchers are some of the most respectable research scientists in their respective fields.”

HOMAYON ARYAN, ACSE GRADUATE

Current job role?
I am currently a NASA Postdoctoral Program Fellow at Goddard Space Flight Center. My primarily research is on whistler mode chorus and plasmaspheric hiss waves observed by the current NASA mission (the Van Allen Probes). I am also involved in an upcoming CubeSat mission (CuPID) as an Electronics Systems Engineer.

NASA 1

How has ACSE helped you in your chosen career?
The research carried out at the department is significant and internationally recognised. ACSE researchers are some of the most respectable research scientists in their respective fields. Working with them allowed me to learn from them and collaborate with other successful organisations.

Most rewarding aspect of study?
ACSE provided me with the platform to be successful. I learned skills that I use in my current job role.

NASA 2

Leave a Reply

