UG Student Profile – Conor Harman

As ACSE student month draws to a close, we have one final student profile to share with you. This one comes from undergraduate student Conor Harman, who is studying Mechatronic and Robotic Engineering.

Conor Harman

What subjects did you study prior to ACSE?

Prior to coming to ACSE I studied physics, chemistry, maths and further maths for both my AS and A2 levels.

CM QuoteWhy did you choose ACSE?

I chose the department of Automatic Control and Systems Engineering as compared to other engineering departments ACSE’s courses and research seemed innovative and exciting and that really appealed to me.

What Undergraduate course are you studying?

I am studying Mechatronic and Robotic Engineering.

Future career goals?

Once I finish my degree I would like to either go into research or apply to work at a company that will allow me to achieve chartered engineer status at the same time – allowing me to learn new things alongside my day-to-day job. I may also look into doctorates and go into teaching as I’m aware that lecturers are able to conduct research alongside their teaching.

Favourite thing about ACSE?

My favourite part of ACSE is the people. Everyone is really nice and friendly, and I feel confident that if I am struggling with a piece of work there will be someone on hand who will be happy to help.

How will ACSE help you in the future?UG Robot

I think ACSE will help me in the future by providing me with skills that can be applied to a number of engineering disciplines, skills that can be applied to more than just passing exams. ACSE will also help me to push myself and set me up for a future in engineering.

Favourite part of living in Sheffield?

I like the fact that there is a good balance of both busy and quiet places around the city. For example when on campus I can go to one of the libraries or even a park to study, but then the Students Union and the city centre are only a short walk away which is great on a night out.

Leave a Reply

